Cucumber Falls (Ohiopyle State Park)

Who doesn’t love a beautiful waterfall?! That is why we are sharing Cucumber Falls even though we don’t have an exact trail mapped out. Although I didn’t get any pictures, Cucumber Falls is actually GREAT for bouldering. The waterfall is surrounded by rocks. It’s a fun climb, but be careful because some of the rocks are wet and slippy.

cukeredo

 

When you head down into the trail from the parking lot, you will go towards the right. It leads you down a bunch of steps. We went all the way down the steps and bouldered our way up to the waterfall. Then, we went behind the waterfall and out the other side. There are some seriously awesome views! I *wish* we had more pictures, but I guess you’ll just have to go see it for yourself … (; I did have my Fitbit map going, and it said we went about 1 mile between walking to/from the trail and bouldering. Not too shabby, right?

Parking: The lot is very easily visible from the road.

Bathrooms: none

Water: none available for drinking

Special notes: I would recommend wearing tennies or water shoes – something with some grip so you don’t fall!

Also … I think the Meadow Run Trail connects the Waterslides and Cucumber Falls. I did see a trail when we were heading to the falls, but I don’t remember one by the waterslides. If you happen to try it, let us know!

cukefall3

CukeFall1

cukefall2

It’s kind of like our own little piece of tropical paradise right here in SWPA!

Have fun,

Amy + Dominique

Leave a comment